top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAda Chan

The Beginning Of An Addiction

Why I can justify spending thousands of dollars on designer goods...





Just a couple years ago, I couldn't fathom spending thousands of dollars on a bag, but the purchases get easier one after another. My first designer handbag was the Louis Vuitton Speedy Bandouliere in size 25 and I paid $1,300 for it brand new from a personal shopper back in 2017. It was a lot for me back then and I treasured the bag when I first got it, but after a couple months I was itching to purchase another. I was obsessed with watching handbag reviews on Youtube where I learned about the value of designer handbags, how they are investments. Since 2018 I've sold this bag for $1260 so i was able to enjoy it for a year and a half and only lost $40 in value which is totally worth it for me.


When you buy a classic piece from Louis Vuitton, Chanel, or Hermes they hold their value and make a good investment especially if you like to wear designer handbags. These three fashion houses have periodic price increases just like every other fashion house, but these three stand out because their products are harder to source, making them more valuable.


Why Handbags Are A Good Investment


When buying a classic piece your handbag will retain at least 85% of its original value if it's kept in good condition. With the price increases throughout the year, product value continues to rise. If you wear a handbag and keep it in good condition, you can enjoy the bag and if a couple years later, you no longer wear it and want to sell you will most likely get back what you paid or more. There is also a huge market for pre-owned or second hand designer goods so they're relatively easy to sell.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page