top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAda Chan

Rethinking the Collection

Looking back at what I have and what I've learned thus far.






In my collection I try to have a small, medium, and large bag to cater to every occasion. I try to thoroughly think through every purchase to ensure it is something that I will actually be able to get wear out of instead of something that I just admire.


Jess Portillo published an article titled, "A Decade of Collecting" where she looks back on her collection and categorizes by size and explains the purpose each category serves. Portillo puts a lot of thought into her collection and has really narrowed down her collection; only keeping handbags that she wears. Check out her article post in the link below to learn more about reflecting on your collection.


Portillo said, "My Grandma had always told me that quality is more important than quantity, and I took this to heart, especially with my personal style." This took a long time for me to realize. I used to always be the person trying to get all my clothes and handbags for as cheap as possible which isn't a bad thing, but they never lasted. I continued to buy the same cheap poor quality items over and over again to replace the one that broke. In the longrun spending $15 on a pair of leggings that would get holes in them after washing five times compared to a $50 pair of leggings that are thick and don't wear after each wash. The same goes with handbags, I have a Longchamp bag that I love, but I find that overtime there's a hole in all corners. The Longchamps are convenient, but I find that they don't last the test of time.


Stay Updated


To keep up with handbag blog posts, please subscribe to the newsletter to receive updated every time I upload a new post! Be safe and have a great day!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page